Staying active in retirement – as a volunteer Senior Expert

Hartmut Stichel

At the beginning of the Seventies, when I had just qualified as a toolmaker, I was able to gain my first experience in the field of development cooperation by serving as a development worker for the DED (German Development Service) in Tanzania. During my professional career, I was able to work for a total of 14 years in various projects and with various organisations in Peru and Ethiopia and, most recently, as a Bread for the World development worker, in Rwanda.

During this time, I have gained formative experiences and lasting impressions of work, everyday life, and the complexities of development policy in an intercultural context. I learned a lot, not only about countries and cultures which had been foreign to me, but also about myself.

When I completed my last assignment, I went straight into retirement, but not without looking for ways in which I could put my life experience and work experience – and the skills and competencies which I had acquired through working in the field of development cooperation – to good use during my retirement. As I was searching the Internet, I came across the Senior Expert Service (SES), a not-for-profit organisation based in Bonn, which finds retired professionals for short-term voluntary assignments.

The agency was born out of the idea that expertise which has been built up over decades should not go to waste. Senior Experts are deployed for a minimum of three weeks and up to a maximum of six months.

This was exactly what I was looking for. I got myself registered at the SES with my personal and professional profile and was soon able to prepare myself for my first four-month assignment in India. I went there to support the Chamber of International Commerce in Pune, which was planning and then running a three-month basic training course in metalworking. The course was based on the German dual vocational training system and was run in cooperation with local industry.

Thanks to the success of this project, I received another invitation the following year to assist with a one-year advanced course. And I’m now looking forward to working as an SES Senior Expert for a third time in the same project.

In addition to these assignments in India, I have also been deployed on shorter assignments in Ghana, Argentina, Mexico, and China. Although vocational training was sometimes the primary focus, at other times I was involved in finding practical solutions to technical problems.

I’m now on a two-month assignment in Rwanda, where I’m involved in problem solving in relation to the coordination of training and production in a church context.

I’m not the only one to have benefited a great deal from all these assignments. A lot of positive feedback and personal contact with the projects have given me the clear impression that these short assignments have also had a positive impact on the partner organisations. So I hope to be able to carry out exciting tasks like this for many more years to come.

And by the way, the SES now offers short-term volunteer assignments to younger people (over 30 years of age) as well. Detailed information can be found at www.ses-bonn.de.

 

Hartmut Stichel lived in Tansania from 1973 to 1975, in Peru from 1979 to 1981, in Tansania from 1998 to 2000, in Ethopia from 2006 to 2008 and in Ruanda from 2009 to 2013 (published in transfer volume 2/2017)

Im „Ruhestand“ aktiv als "Senior Experte"

Hartmut Stichel

Anfang der siebziger Jahre – ich hatte gerade meinen Facharbeiterbrief als Werkzeugmacher in der Tasche – konnte ich als Entwicklungshelfer des DED in Tansania meine ersten EZ-Erfahrungen sammeln. Ich habe mich dann im Laufe meines beruflichen Werdeganges insgesamt 14 Jahre in unterschiedlichen Projekten und Organisationen in Peru, Äthiopien und zuletzt als Brot-für-die-Welt-Fachkraft in Ruanda engagieren können.

In dieser Zeit habe ich prägende Erfahrungen und Eindrücke über Arbeit, Alltag und entwicklungspolitische Zusammenhänge im interkulturellen Kontext gesammelt. Ich habe dabei viel über mir bis dahin fremde Länder und Kulturen gelernt – und auch über mich selbst.

Unmittelbar nach dem letzten EZ-Einsatz ging ich in den Ruhestand, allerdings nicht ohne nach Möglichkeiten zu suchen, auch noch im Rentenalter meine Lebens- und Berufserfahrung und die in der EZ erworbenen Kompetenzen sinnvoll zu nutzen. Beim Recherchieren im Internet stieß ich auf den Senior Experten Service (SES), einer in Bonn ansässigen, gemeinnützigen Organisation, welche Ruheständler für ehrenamtliche Kurzzeiteinsätze vermittelt.

Diese Einrichtung entstand aus der Idee heraus, dass jahrzehntelang angesammeltes Fachwissen nicht brachliegen darf. Die Einsatzdauer beträgt dabei mindestens drei Wochen und soll sechs Monate nicht überschreiten.

Das war nun genau das, wonach ich suchte. Ich ließ mich mit meinem beruflichen und persönlichen Profil beim SES registrieren, woraufhin ich mich schon bald auf meinen ersten, viermonatigen Einsatz in Indien vorbereiten konnte. Dort unterstützte ich die Auslandshandelskammer in Pune, die einen dreimonatigen Grundlehrgang in der Metallverarbeitung plante und durchführte. Dieser orientierte sich am deutschen dualen Berufsbildungssystem und fand in Zusammenarbeit mit der ortsansässigen Industrie statt.

Das Projekt verlief erfolgreich und so erhielt ich im darauf folgenden Jahr erneut eine Einladung, den einjährigen Aufbaukurs zu unterstützen. Und jetzt freue ich mich darauf, bald sogar ein drittes Mal im gleichen Projekt als SES-Senior Experte tätig werden zu dürfen.

Neben den Einsätzen in Indien hatte ich dann noch eine Reihe weiterer kürzerer Einsätze in Ghana, Argentinien, Mexiko und China: Mal stand dabei die Berufsausbildung im Vordergrund, mal ging es um konkrete Lösungen technischer Probleme.

Zurzeit bin ich auf einem zweimonatigen Einsatz in Ruanda, wo ich an Problemlösungen bei der Verknüpfung von Ausbildung und Produktion im kirchlichen Umfeld beteiligt bin.

Nicht nur für mich waren all diese Einsätze stets eine große Bereicherung. Viele positive Rückmeldungen und persönliche Kontakte aus den Projekten geben mir das sichere Gefühl, dass diese Kurzeinsätze auch bei den Partnern positive Impulse hinterlassen haben. Ich hoffe, diese spannenden Aufgaben noch viele weitere Jahre wahrnehmen zu können.

Übrigens: Inzwischen bietet der SES auch jüngeren Menschen ab dreißig ehrenamtliche Kurzeinsätze an. Genauere Informationen findet man unter www.ses-bonn.de.

 

Hartmut Stichel war von 1973 bis 1975 in Tansania, von 1979 bis 1981 in Peru, von 1998 bis 2000 in Tansania, von 2006 bis 2008 in Äthiopien und von 2009 bis 2013 in Ruanda (erschienen in transfer Ausgabe 2/2017)