Mentor for refugee apprentices

Hartmut Stichel

In transfer 2/17 I wrote about my assignments abroad as a senior expert of the Senior Expert Service (SES). Whether I was engaged in vocational training or solving technical problems, putting my work experience and life experience to good use under what were sometimes difficult conditions was always an exciting challenge.

In addition to such assignments, SES has, for several years now, also been giving senior citizens the opportunity to get involved as volunteers in vocational training in Germany. This move was prompted by the observation that about 25 percent of all apprenticeship contracts are terminated prematurely for various reasons, often during the first year of training. Besides this, the desire to enable young refugees to gain vocational qualifications led the SES, in consultation with the chambers of industry and commerce, to start a mentoring programme, VerA (Verhinderung von Ausbildungsabbrüchen – Reducing the Drop-Out Rate).

VerA mentoring is provided free of charge for apprentices, the companies who train them, and vocational colleges. SES’ partners in VerA are the Federal Association of Freelance Professions (BFB), the Association of German Chambers of Industry and Commerce (DIHK), and the German Confederation of Skilled Crafts (ZDH). VerA is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Mentor for refugee apprentices

The programme works like a tandem: During an apprentice’s vocational training an SES expert provides support by meeting with them regularly. Since VerA was founded in 2008, well over 16,000 apprentices have been accompanied by a mentor with a 75% success rate.

I too have been acting as a mentor in this programme for five years now. Not only my technical expertise but also the intercultural experience which I gained through numerous development service and SES assignments is especially helpful when it comes to mentoring refugees.

I began by registering on the VerA website (https://vera.ses-bonn.de) and then attended an introductory seminar to prepare myself for being a mentor. I soon received the first invitations to mentor refugees who were training to be metalworkers at the Vocational College of Metalwork (BfM) in Bremen.

The BfM runs special training programmes to make it possible for young people with learning difficulties (In the case of refugees, their learning difficulties are often due to a lack of knowledge of German or having left school without any qualifications.) to obtain a qualification at the end of their training. The support provided by SES senior experts completes the package.

Appreciation and encouragement

Ever since I’ve been involved in this programme, I have often observed that people with a migrant background struggle not only with the need to have adequate language skills and knowledge of particular subjects; They are constantly being faced with new challenges because of the peculiarities of German culture and their need to feel accepted. And they are often under strong pressure to provide material support for their family in the home country. This makes it extremely difficult for apprentices to focus on their learning goals, which demand a lot from them. This can easily become frustrating not only for the apprentices themselves but also for their mentors. And this can lead to feelings of resignation. But the young people usually experience our efforts as appreciation and encouragement – encouragement to continue their training with determination.

When they are rewarded with success at the end of their training, this confirms for me the importance of passing on one’s own work experience and life experience to young people through this kind of social involvement – especially now when, under the current corona hygiene regulations, we can only communicate via electronic media, such as WhatsApp, Skype, etc. or with social distancing and wearing masks. But that too will come to an end one day. In the meantime we have to make do with whatever can be done and make the most of it.

Hartmut Stichel acts as a mentor for young refugee apprentices.

Information about VerA is available here: vera@ses-bonn.de initiative, vera.ses-bonn.de

 

 

Hartmut Stichel lived in Tansania from 1973 to 1975, in Peru from 1979 to 1981, in Tansania from 1998 to 2000, in Ethopia from 2006 to 2008 and in Ruanda from 2009 to 2013

Ausbildungsbegleiter für Geflüchtete

Hartmut Stichel

In der transfer 2/17 habe ich bereits über meine Auslandseinsätze als ehrenamtlicher Seniorexperte des Senior Experten Service (SES) geschrieben. Ob Engagement in der beruflichen Bildung oder Unterstützung bei der Lösung technischer Probleme, für mich war es immer eine spannende Herausforderung, meine Berufs- und ­Lebenserfahrungen unter nicht ­immer einfachen Rahmenbedingen sinnvoll einzubringen.

Neben diesen Auslandseinsätzen bietet der SES seit einigen Jahren Senioren auch die Möglichkeit, sich innerhalb Deutschlands im Bereich der beruflichen Bildung ehrenamtlich zu engagieren. Auslöser war die Tatsache, dass etwa 25 Prozent aller Ausbildungsverträge aus unterschiedlichen Gründen vorzeitig aufgelöst werden, oft schon im ersten Ausbildungsjahr. Darüber hinaus hat das Bestreben, geflüchteten jungen Menschen eine formale berufliche Ausbildung zu ermöglichen, den SES veranlasst, in Absprache mit den Kammern des Handwerks und der Industrie ein Mentoren-Programm mit dem Namen VerA – Verhinderung von Ausbildungsabbrüchen – anzubieten.

VerA-Begleitungen sind für Auszubildende, Ausbildungsbetriebe und Berufsschulen kostenfrei. Partner des SES bei VerA sind der Bundesverband der Freien Berufe (BFB), der Deutsche Industrie- und Handelskammertag (DIHK) und der Zentralverband des Deutschen Handwerks (ZDH). Gefördert wird VerA vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF).

mentor für Geflüchtete azubis

Diese Initiative funktioniert quasi als Tandem, bei dem die Berufsausbildung durch regelmäßige Treffen mit einer Expertin oder einem Experten des SES unterstützt wird. Seit der Gründung im Jahre 2008 haben inzwischen weit mehr als 16.000 Begleitungen mit einer Erfolgsquote von 75 Prozent stattgefunden.

Seit fünf Jahren engagiere auch ich mich als Mentor in diesem Programm, wobei mir neben dem Fachwissen auch meine interkulturellen Erfahrungen aus vielen EZ- und SES-Einsätzen insbesondere bei der Betreuung Geflüchteter sehr hilfreich sind.

Registriert habe ich mich seiner Zeit über die VerA-Website (https://vera.ses-bonn.de). In einem Einführungsseminar bereitete ich mich für die Ausbildungsbegleitung vor. Schon bald darauf erhielt ich die ersten Vorschläge zur Betreuung von Geflüchteten, welche an der berufsbildenden Schule für Metalltechnik (BfM) in Bremen eine Ausbildung zum Metalltechniker absolvierten.

Die BfM ermöglicht mit besonderen pädagogischen Konzepten insbesondere Jugendlichen mit Lernschwierigkeiten – bei Geflüchteten sind diese oft bedingt durch mangelnde Sprachkenntnisse oder fehlende Schulabschlüsse – eine qualifizierte Ausbildung. Dabei stellt die Begleitung durch SES-Seniorexperten eine gute Ergänzung dar.

Wertschätzung und Ermutigung

Seit ich mich in diesem Programm engagiere, stelle ich immer wieder fest, dass Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund nicht nur mit fachlichen und sprachlichen Anforderungen zu kämpfen haben. Sie werden ebenso durch die kulturellen Eigenheiten hier in Deutschland und das Ringen um Akzeptanz immer wieder vor neue Herausforderungen gestellt. Hinzu kommt oft auch starker Druck durch materielle Erwartungen der Familien in der Heimat. Das erschwert den Azubis extrem die Konzentration auf die Lernziele, die mit hohen Anforderungen verbunden sind. Das kann sowohl bei den Azubis, als auch bei den Mentoren leicht zu Frustration und Resignation führen, aber in der Regel empfinden die jungen Menschen unser Engagement als Wertschätzung und Ermutigung, die Ausbildung konsequent weiter zu führen.

Und wenn das am Ende mit einem erfolgreichen Abschluss belohnt wird, dann ist es auch für mich immer wieder eine Bestätigung dafür, wie wichtig es ist, durch soziales Engagement die eigene Berufs- und Lebenserfahrung an junge Menschen weiter zu geben. Gerade auch jetzt, wo wir unter den aktuellen Corona-Hygienebedingungen nur noch über elektronische Medien wie Whatsapp, Skype usw. oder mit Abstand und Maske kommunizieren können. Aber auch das wird irgendwann sicher ein Ende haben und so lange muss man sich mit dem arrangieren, was möglich ist, und das Beste daraus machen.

Hartmut Stichel engagiert sich als ­Mentor für junge ­geflüchtete ­Auszubildende.

Informationen zur  Initiative VerA: vera@ses-bonn.de, vera.ses-bonn.de 

 

Hartmut Stichel war von 1973 bis 1975 in Tansania, von 1979 bis 1981 in Peru, von 1998 bis 2000 in Tansania, von 2006 bis 2008 in Äthiopien und von 2009 bis 2013 in Ruanda